Tib’s bayen: 51 Rue Bayen 75017 Paris

Of the 25 + Kosher restaurants in the 17th arrondissement, there are only three dairy ones that I am aware of, and Tib’s is one of them.  Their menu is huge, (even overwhelmingly so) and the restaurant has a casual and energetic vibe.  They also have a separate menu for sushi.  I have been to many Asian meat restaurants which have separate sushi menus, but this is the first dairy restaurant that I have seen in Paris that serves sushi in addition to the typical pastas, pizzas, and salads.

They have soups, bagel sandwiches, vegetarian burgurs, fish, gratins, a large array of salads, varieties of pizzas, pastas, and lasagnas, and make your own crepes.  There are no traditional lasagnas with tomato sauce and cheese.  There is something on the menu for everyone, although most of the items have either cheese or creme sauce.  The lasagnas are made with fish and sauce bechamel (a cheese sauce).

My dad ordered the French Onion soup for his entree.  It was really flavorful and the melted cheese at the top was delicious, but the soup was not as thick as I would have preferred it.  He also ordered a make your own crepe with spinach, mushrooms, and cheese.  This was his first French crepe and he really liked it!

My sister ordered the Crepe Provençale with mozzarella, fresh tomato, olive oil, basil, and endive salad.  She loved it and thought that the mozzarella tasted extremely fresh.

They had an extremely extensive list of pizzas.  My mom ordered the Pizza Armstrong, which she thought sounded like a traditional margarita pizza.  Her pizza came out with corn and olives on top.  She was extremely intrigued by the mixture of pizza, olives, and corn.  She kept saying that she has never seen pizza topped with corn before.  She very much enjoyed her pizza despite the unexpected nuances.

Josh ordered the Tuna steak with a thick pepper creme sauce with sauteed potatoes and a side salad.  He liked his dish, (especially the potatoes) but was not super enthusiastic about it.  He wiped off most of the sauce, as it was extremely rich and creamy.

Anton ordered the Israélienne salad (falafel, salad, cucumber, tomatos, houmous, tehina, eggplant, pitas, frites).  I don’t think he was super excited about it.  He left most of his falafel balls on his plate and ended up eating most of Josh’s potatos.  This is not a Mediterranean restaurant, and they don’t specialize in Israeli food.  Then again, if you read any of my other entries about going out for dinner with Anton, he typically doesn’t like what he orders and eats everyone else’s food.  Usually, he’ll order something really healthy and eat all of our fries instead.  It must be a psychological thing.  I have concluded from what everyone ordered that Tib’s specializes in its pastas, pizzas, gratins, and crepes (more than fish, bagels, salad, etc.) and customers are best off ordering something off the menu with cheese.

My pasta was delicious!  I ordered Pasta Bolognaise with tomato sauce, melted mozzarella cheese, and fake meat.  I ordered my dish with penne pasta, and they served me tagliani instead.  Many people would have just eaten the tagliani, but for better or for worse, I am very particular about my food.   My discriminating palete is part of the reason why I enjoy critiquing and writing about food so much.  I have been notorious for sending my dishes back or asking the waiter to fix something when I am dissatisfied.   Complaining about one’s food is often unacceptable, if not less than appreciated in French culture.  You are supposed to eat what you are served and finish what is on your plate (which is why the portions are often so small).  I called the waiter over and kindly told him, “It’s not a big deal, but I just wanted to let you know that I actually ordered the penne.”  Rather than snarling at me or waiting for me to ask him to fix it, he immediately apologized and insisted on bringing me the penne instead.  This restaurant definitely gets an A+ for service.  My sister even suggested that I find a reason to complain about my food at every restaurant that I blog about and see how the waiter reacts in order to evaluate the restaurant’s service.  I thought this was a clever idea, but for obvious reasons, Josh was ardently opposed!

The ice cream sundays at the table next to us looked amazing, but as the portions were extremely generous, we were all too full to order dessert.  I also found out that Tib’s delivers until 11:30pm.  The prices on on the higher end of the spectrum for a casual dairy restaurant, but the delicious food and service experience that we had was well worth it.

About parispalate

Experiencing Paris through food
This entry was posted in $$, 4 Stars, Arrondissement 17, Dairy, Delivery, Italian, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

